Download Madagascar Administrative Boundary Shapefiles – Province, Regions, Districts and more

IGISMAP has now published the latest GIS vector data of Madagascar administrative levels. Links for downloading the shapefiles of the important administrative divisions of Madagascar are provided in the following. You can also download these data in KML, GeoJSON or CSV formats. 


  • All data available are in GCS datum EPSG:4326 WGS84 CRS (Coordinate Reference System).
  • You need to login for downloading the shapefile.

Download Free Shapefile Data of Madagascar

The Republic of Madagascar (and previously known as the Malagasy Republic), is an island country in the Indian Ocean, approximately 400 kilometers (250 miles) off the coast of East Africa across the Mozambique Channel. At 592,800 square kilometers (228,900 sq mi) Madagascar is the world’s second-largest country that consists primarily of islands, after Indonesia. The nation consists of the island of Madagascar (the fourth-largest island in the world) and numerous smaller peripheral islands. Following the prehistoric breakup of the supercontinent Gondwana, Madagascar split from the Indian subcontinent around 88 million years ago, allowing native plants and animals to evolve in relative isolation. Consequently, Madagascar is a biodiversity hotspot; over 90% of its wildlife is endemic.

Madagascar National Boundary
Madagascar National Boundary

Download Madagascar National Outline Boundary Shapefile

Download Madagascar Provinces Shapefile Data

Madagascar polygon Shapefile consists of six provinces. Name of provinces are given below:

  1. Antananarivo Province
  2. Antananarivo Province
  3. Fianarantsoa Province
  4. Mahajanga Province
  5. Toamasina Province
  6. Toliara Province
Madagascar National Boundary
Madagascar National Boundary

Download Madagascar Provinces Boundaries Shapefile

Download Madagascar Regions Shapefile Data

Madagascar is divided into six autonomous provinces (faritany mizakatena), which in turn are divided into 22 regions.

Madagascar Region Boundaries
Madagascar Region Boundaries

Download Madagascar Regions Boundaries Shapefile

Download Madagascar Districts Shapefile Data

Madagascar District Boundaries

Download Madagascar District Boundaries Shapefile

Other GIS Data:

Please note that the Madagascar data provided here is license under Open Data Commons Open Database License (ODbL). Please review the same before using it. If you want data under different license you can also look over to the post : Download Free Shapefile Maps – Country Boundary Polygon, Rail-Road, Water polyline etc

Download Free Shapefile for the following:

  1. World Countries Shapefile
  2. Australia
  3. Argentina
  4. Austria
  5. Belgium
  6. Brazil
  7. Canada
  8. Denmark
  9. Fiji
  10. Finland
  11. Germany
  12. Greece
  13. India
  14. Indonesia
  15. Ireland
  16. Italy
  17. Japan
  18. Kenya
  19. Lebanon
  20. Madagascar
  21. Malaysia
  22. Mexico
  23. Mongolia
  24. Netherlands
  25. New Zealand
  26. Nigeria
  27. Papua New Guinea
  28. Philippines
  29. Poland
  30. Russia
  31. Singapore
  32. South Africa
  33. South Korea
  34. Spain
  35. Switzerland
  36. Tunisia
  37. United Kingdom Shapefile
  38. United States of America
  39. Vietnam
  40. Croatia
  41. Chile
  42. Norway

Disclaimer : If you find any shapefile data of country provided is in correct do contact us or comment below, so that we will correct the same in our system.