Download Libya Administrative Boundary Shapefiles – National, Districts and more

Access Libya GIS data of administrative boundaries, national, districts, in formats – shapefile, KML, GeoJSON, CSV, KMZ

Thrilling updates for those passionate about Geographic Information Systems (GIS)! IGISMAP’s GIS data collection has now expanded to include Libya, among over 100 other countries. Dive into the comprehensive and up-to-date GIS data for Libya, encompassing a wide array of geographic and administrative features like water bodies, roads, airport locations, and more. This dataset encompasses various administrative boundaries, providing valuable insights for your mapping projects, whether on a national or local scale. You have the flexibility to choose from formats such as ESRI Shapefile, KML, GeoJSON, and CSV for easy downloads. Don’t miss out on this exceptional opportunity to elevate your mapping projects with the latest GIS data for Libya, complete with administrative boundaries. Enjoy your exploration and mapping!

With MAPOG’s versatile toolkit, you can effortlessly upload vector and raster files, add WMS (Web Map Service) layers, upload Excel or CSV data, incorporate existing files, perform polygon splitting and merging, generate new polygon and polyline data, use the converter for various formats, conduct buffer analysis, create grids, transform points into polygons, calculate isochrones, and utilize the geocoder for precise location information.

We provide an extensive range of data formats, including KML, SHP, CSV, GeoJSON, Tab, SQL, Tiff, GML, KMZ, GPKZ, SQLITE, Dxf, MIF, TOPOJSON, XLSX, GPX, ODS, MID, and GPS, ensuring compatibility and accessibility for a variety of applications and analyses.

If you want to know how to use Add GIS Data tool, check out this article Add GIS data from IGISMap GIS data collection.


  • All data available are in GCS datum EPSG:4326 WGS84 CRS (Coordinate Reference System).
  • You need to login for downloading the shapefile.

Download Shapefile Data of Libya

Nestled within the Maghreb region of North Africa, Libya stands as a country of substantial importance, officially known as the State of Libya. It shares its borders with the Mediterranean Sea to the north, Egypt to the east, Sudan to the southeast, Chad to the south, Niger to the southwest, Algeria to the west, and Tunisia to the northwest. Comprising the historical regions of Tripolitania, Fezzan, and Cyrenaica, Libya’s vast expanse covers 1.8 million km2 (700,000 sq mi), ranking it as Africa’s fourth-largest and the Arab world’s, as well as the 16th largest globally. The dynamic capital, Tripoli, nestled in the northwest, not only houses over a million residents but also resonates as a center of cultural and societal vibrancy within the nation’s seven million-strong population.

Libya National Boundary
Libya National Boundary

Download Libya National Boundary Shapefile

After successfully logging in with a legitimate email address, select the country you want to work with. Next, choose the specific layer you need and click on the download option. Once that’s done, pick the desired format to acquire the essential GIS data. Before proceeding with the data download, make sure to review the data table for any relevant information.

Download Libya District Shapefile Data

Libya is divided into twenty-two districts. Districts are the highest administrative regions in Libya.

Libya Districts Boundaries
Libya Districts Boundaries

Download Libya Districts Shapefile

This shapefile covers following districts of Libya listed below:

  1. Tripoli
  2. Murqub
  3. Jabal al Gharbi
  4. Nalut
  5. Zawiya
  6. Jafara
  7. Misrata
  8. Sirte
  9. Benghazi
  10. Marj
  11. Butnan
  12. Al Wahat
  13. Kufra
  14. Al Jufra
  15. Wadi al Shatii
  16. Murzuq
  17. Sabha
  18. Wadi al Hayaa
  19. Nalut
  20. Yafran
  21. Ghadamis
  22. Ghat

Download Libya Administrative Boundaries Combined Shapefile Data

There are currently 22 districts in Libya, according to the 2007 Administrative Divisions Law.These districts are further subdivided into municipalities (baladiyat). The municipalities are the basic administrative units in Libya. They are responsible for providing basic services to the people, such as education, healthcare, and infrastructure.

Libya National District Boundaries
Libya National District Boundaries

Download Libya National, District Shapefile

Other GIS Data:

Above all links are provided for GIS data of Libya if you are looking for any specific data please write us on

Download Shapefile for the following:

  1. World Countries Shapefile
  2. Australia
  3. Argentina
  4. Austria
  5. Belgium
  6. Brazil
  7. Canada
  8. Denmark
  9. Fiji
  10. Finland
  11. Germany
  12. Greece
  13. India
  14. Indonesia
  15. Ireland
  16. Italy
  17. Japan
  18. Kenya
  19. Lebanon
  20. Madagascar
  21. Malaysia
  22. Mexico
  23. Mongolia
  24. Netherlands
  25. New Zealand
  26. Nigeria
  27. Papua New Guinea
  28. Philippines
  29. Poland
  30. Russia
  31. Singapore
  32. South Africa
  33. South Korea
  34. Spain
  35. Switzerland
  36. Tunisia
  37. United Kingdom Shapefile
  38. United States of America
  39. Vietnam
  40. Croatia
  41. Chile
  42. Norway
  43. Maldives
  44. Bhutan
  45. Colombia
  46. Libya
  47. Comoros
  48. Hungary
  49. Laos
  50. Estonia
  51. Iraq
  52. Portugal
  53. Azerbaijan
  54. Macedonia
  55. Romania
  56. Peru
  57. Marshall Islands
  58. Slovenia
  59. Nauru
  60. Guatemala
  61. El Salvador
  62. Afghanistan
  63. Cyprus
  64. Syria
  65. Slovakia
  66. Luxembourg
  67. Jordan
  68. Armenia
  69. Haiti And Dominican Republic

Disclaimer : If you find any shapefile data of country provided is incorrect do contact us or comment below, so that we will correct the same in our system as well we will try to correct the same in openstreetmap.