Download Italy Administrative Boundary Shapefiles – Regions, Provinces, Municipalities and more

Hello GIS enthusiasts, IGISMAP has now published the latest GIS vector data of Italy administrative levels. Links for downloading the shapefiles of the important administrative divisions of Italy are provided in the following. You can also download these data in KML, GeoJSON or CSV formats.


  • All data available are in GCS datum EPSG:4326 WGS84 CRS (Coordinate Reference System).
  • You need to login for downloading the shapefile.

Download Free Shapefile Data of Italy

Italy officially known as the Italian Republic is a country consisting of a peninsula delimited by the Alps and several islands surrounding it, whose territory largely coincides with the homonymous geographical region. Italy is located in the centre of the Mediterranean Sea, in Southern Europe and is also considered part of Western Europe. A unitary parliamentary republic with Rome as its capital and largest city, the country covers a total area of 301,340 km2 (116,350 sq mi) and shares land borders with France, Switzerland, Austria, Slovenia, and the enclaved microstates of Vatican City and San Marino.

Italy GIS Data - National Boundary
Italy National Boundary

Download Italy National Outline Boundary Shapefile

Download Italy Regions Shapefile Data

The regions of Italy are the first-level constituent entities of the Italian Republic, constituting its second NUTS administrative level. There are 20 regions, of which five have greater autonomy than the other fifteen. Under the Italian Constitution, each region is an autonomous entity with defined powers. With the exception of the Aosta Valley, each region is divided into a number of provinces.

Italy GIS Data - Region Boundaries
Italy Region Boundaries

Download Italy Region Boundaries Shapefile

Download Italy Provinces Shapefile Data

The provinces of Italy are the constituent entities of the Italian Republic, on an intermediate level between a municipality (comune) and a region (regione). Since 2015, provinces have been classified as ‘institutional bodies of second level’. There are currently 107 Provinces in Italy, including 80 ordinary provinces, 2 autonomous provinces, 4 regional decentralization entities, 6 free municipal consortia, and 14 metropolitan cities, as well as the Aosta Valley region (which also exercises the powers of a province). Italian provinces (with the exception of the current Sardinian provinces) correspond to the NUTS 3 regions.

Italy GIS Data - Province Boundaries
Italy Provinces Boundaries

Download Italy Province Boundaries Shapefile

Download Italy Municipalities Shapefile Data

The Municipalities also known as comune is a local administrative division of Italy, roughly equivalent to a township. In 2020, Italy counted 7914 municipalities. Between 2011 and 2020, the number of municipalities experienced a constant decrease. In 2011, there were over eight thousand municipalities in the country.

Italy GIS Data - Municipality Boundaries
Italy Municipality Boundaries

Download Italy Municipality Boundaries Shapefile

Other Administrative Boundary Data:

Download Free Shapefile for the following:

  1. World Countries Shapefile
  2. Australia
  3. Argentina
  4. Austria
  5. Belgium
  6. Brazil
  7. Canada
  8. Denmark
  9. Fiji
  10. Finland
  11. Germany
  12. Greece
  13. India
  14. Indonesia
  15. Ireland
  16. Italy
  17. Japan
  18. Kenya
  19. Lebanon
  20. Madagascar
  21. Malaysia
  22. Mexico
  23. Mongolia
  24. Netherlands
  25. New Zealand
  26. Nigeria
  27. Papua New Guinea
  28. Philippines
  29. Poland
  30. Russia
  31. Singapore
  32. South Africa
  33. South Korea
  34. Spain
  35. Switzerland
  36. Tunisia
  37. United Kingdom Shapefile
  38. United States of America
  39. Vietnam
  40. Croatia
  41. Chile
  42. Norway

Disclaimer : If you find any shapefile data of country provided is in correct do contact us or comment below, so that we will correct the same in our system as well we will try to correct the same in OSM.