Download Ireland Administrative Boundary Shapefiles – Counties, Municipal Districts, Constituencies and more

Hello GIS enthusiasts, IGISMAP has now published the latest GIS vector data of Ireland administrative levels. Links for downloading the shapefiles of the important administrative divisions of Ireland are provided in the following. You can also download these data in KML, GeoJSON or CSV formats.


  • All data available are in GCS datum EPSG:4326 WGS84 CRS (Coordinate Reference System).
  • You need to login for downloading the shapefile.

Download Free Shapefile Data of Ireland

Ireland also known as the Republic of Ireland is a country in north-western Europe consisting of 26 of the 32 counties of the island of Ireland. The capital and largest city is Dublin, on the eastern side of the island. Around 40% of the country’s population of 5 million people resides in the Greater Dublin Area. The sovereign state shares its only land border with Northern Ireland, which is part of the United Kingdom.

Ireland GIS Data - National Boundary
Ireland National Boundary

Download Ireland National Outline Boundary Shapefile

Download Ireland Counties Shapefile Data

The 26 counties of the Republic of Ireland are Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Cork, Donegal, Dublin, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Leitrim, Limerick, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Westmeath, Wexford and Wicklow.

Ireland GIS Data - County Boundaries
Ireland County Boundaries

Download Ireland County Boundaries Shapefile

Download Ireland Municipal Districts Shapefile Data

A municipal district is an area of a council area that comprises one or more electoral area. In most cases the electoral area constitutes the municipal district. All counties and cities apart from the local authorities in the areas of Dun Laoghaire, Fingal and South Dublin and the cities of Dublin, Cork and Galway are divided into municipal districts. Councillors represent both the municipal district and the local authority. In total, there are 95 municipal districts in the country.

Ireland GIS Data - Municipal District Boundaries
Ireland Municipal District Boundaries

Download Ireland Municipal District Boundaries Shapefile

Download Ireland Parliamentary Constituencies Shapefile Data

There are 39 multi-member electoral districts, known as Dáil constituencies, that elect 160 TDs (members of parliament), to Dáil Éireann, Ireland’s lower house of the Oireachtas, or parliament, by means of the single transferable vote, to a maximum term of five years.

Ireland GIS Data - Parliamentary Constituency Boundaries
Ireland Parliamentary Constituency Boundaries

Download Ireland Parliamentary Constituency Boundaries Shapefile

Other Administrative Boundary Data:

Download Free Shapefile for the following:

  1. World Countries Shapefile
  2. Australia
  3. Argentina
  4. Austria
  5. Belgium
  6. Brazil
  7. Canada
  8. Denmark
  9. Fiji
  10. Finland
  11. Germany
  12. Greece
  13. India
  14. Indonesia
  15. Ireland
  16. Italy
  17. Japan
  18. Kenya
  19. Lebanon
  20. Madagascar
  21. Malaysia
  22. Mexico
  23. Mongolia
  24. Netherlands
  25. New Zealand
  26. Nigeria
  27. Papua New Guinea
  28. Philippines
  29. Poland
  30. Russia
  31. Singapore
  32. South Africa
  33. South Korea
  34. Spain
  35. Switzerland
  36. Tunisia
  37. United Kingdom Shapefile
  38. United States of America
  39. Vietnam
  40. Croatia
  41. Chile
  42. Norway

Disclaimer : If you find any shapefile data of country provided is in correct do contact us or comment below, so that we will correct the same in our system as well we will try to correct the same in OSM.