Download South Africa Administrative Boundary Shapefiles – Provinces, Districts, Wards and more

South Africa Shapefile download

Hello GIS enthusiasts, IGISMAP has now published the latest GIS vector data of South Africa administrative levels. Links for downloading the shapefiles of the important administrative divisions of South Africa are provided in the following. You can also download these data in KML, GeoJSON or CSV formats. 


  • All data available are in GCS datum EPSG:4326 WGS84 CRS (Coordinate Reference System).
  • You need to login for downloading the shapefile.

Download Free Shapefile Data of South Africa

South Africa, officially the Republic of South Africa (RSA), is the southernmost country in Africa. South Africa is bounded to the south by 2,798 kilometers (1,739 mi) of coastline that stretch along the South Atlantic and Indian Oceans to the north by the neighboring countries of Namibia, Botswana, and Zimbabwe; and to the east and northeast by Mozambique and Eswatini and it surrounds the enclaved country of Lesotho. It is the southernmost country on the mainland of the Old World, and the most populous country located entirely south of the equator. The largest city is Johannesburg.

South Africa National Boundary
South Africa National Boundary

Download South Africa National Outline Boundary Shapefile

Download South Africa Province Shapefile Data

South Africa is divided into nine provinces as following:

  • Eastern Cape
  • Free State
  • Gauteng
  • KwaZulu-Natal
  • Limpopo
  • Mpumalanga
  • North West
  • Northern Cape
  • Western Cape
South Africa Province Boundaries
South Africa Province Boundaries

Download South Africa Province Boundaries Shapefile

Download South Africa District Shapefile Data

South Africa District Boundaries
South Africa District Boundaries

Download South Africa District Boundaries Shapefile

Download South Africa Wards Shapefile Data

South Africa Ward Boundaries
South Africa Ward Boundaries

Download South Africa Ward Boundaries Shapefile

Please note that the Argentina data provided here is license under Open Data Commons Open Database License (ODbL). Please review the same before using it. If you want data under different license you can also look over to the post : Download Free Shapefile Maps – Country Boundary Polygon, Rail-Road, Water polyline etc

Other Administrative Shapefile Data:

Other GIS Data:

Download Free Shapefile for the following:

  1. World Country Shapefile
  2.  Australia Shapefile download
  3. Argentina
  4. Brazil
  5. Download Shapefile of Canada
  6. Denmark
  7. Germany
  8. India
  9. Indonesia
  10. Japan
  11. Kenya
  12. Lebanon
  13. Madagascar
  14. Malaysia Shapefile
  15. Mexico Shapefile
  16. Mongolia
  17. New Zealand
  18. Nigeria
  19. Papua New Guinea
  20. Philippines
  21. Poland
  22. Singapore
  23. South Africa Province Shapefile
  24. South Korea
  25. Tunisia
  26. United Kingdom Shapefile
  27. Download Shapefile of United States of America
  28. Vietnam

Disclaimer : If you find any shapefile data of country provided is in correct do contact us or comment below, so that we will correct the same in our system.

11 thoughts on “Download South Africa Administrative Boundary Shapefiles – Provinces, Districts, Wards and more”

  1. Hi,
    do you have a shapefile of South African Provinces and all other countries on the same layer?
    E.g. Western Cape, Eastern Cape, Lesotho, Italy

  2. Hi
    If anyone knows where to access a shapefile of farms in the northern Cape, Pixley ka Seme Municipality District.

  3. Please, could you kindly help me with the shapefiles for existing and proposed solar projects in the northern cape province

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.