Download Spain Administrative Boundary Shapefiles – Autonomous Communities, Provinces, Municipalities and more

Spain GIS Data - Shapefile

Hello GIS enthusiasts, IGISMAP has now published the latest GIS vector data of Spain administrative levels. Links for downloading the shapefiles of the important administrative divisions of Spain are provided in the following. You can also download these data in KML, GeoJSON or CSV formats.


  • All data available are in GCS datum EPSG:4326 WGS84 CRS (Coordinate Reference System).
  • You need to login for downloading the shapefile.

Download Free Shapefile Data of Spain

Spain officially known as the Kingdom of Spain is a country in Southwestern Europe with some pockets of territory in the Mediterranean Sea, offshore in the Atlantic Ocean. The country’s mainland is bordered to the south by the British overseas territory of Gibraltar, to the south and east by the Mediterranean Sea to the north by France, Andorra and the Bay of Biscay and to the west by Portugal and the Atlantic Ocean.

Spain National Boundary

Download Spain National Outline Boundary Shapefile

Download Spain Autonomous Communities Shapefile Data

In Spain, an autonomous community is a first level political and administrative division, created in accordance with the Spanish Constitution of 1978, with the aim of guaranteeing limited autonomy of the nationalities and regions that make up Spain. There are 17 autonomous communities and two autonomous cities that are collectively known as autonomies.

  • Andalusia
  • Aragon
  • Asturias
  • Balearic Islands
  • Basque Country
  • Canary Islands
  • Cantabria
  • Castile and León
  • Castilla–La Mancha
  • Catalonia
  • Community of Madrid
  • Extremadura
  • Galicia
  • La Rioja
  • Navarre
  • Region of Murcia
  • Valencian Community
  • Ceuta
  • Melilla
Spain Autonomous Community Boundaries

Download Spain Autonomous Community Boundaries Shapefile

Download Spain Provinces Shapefile Data

Spain and its 17 autonomous communities are subdivided into 50 provinces. Seven of the autonomous communities comprise no more than one province each: Asturias, the Balearic Islands, Cantabria, La Rioja, Madrid, Murcia, and Navarre. These are sometimes referred to as uniprovincial communities.

Spain Province Boundaries

Download Spain Province Boundaries Shapefile

Download Spain Municipalities Shapefile Data

There is a total of 8124 municipalities in Spain, including the autonomous cities of Ceuta and Melilla. Burgos is the province with the most municipalities (371) and Las Palmas the one with the least (34).

Spain Municipality Boundaries

Download Spain Municipality Boundaries Shapefile

Other Administrative Boundary Data:

Download Free Shapefile for the following:

  1. World Countries Shapefile
  2. Australia
  3. Argentina
  4. Austria
  5. Belgium
  6. Brazil
  7. Canada
  8. Denmark
  9. Fiji
  10. Finland
  11. Germany
  12. Greece
  13. India
  14. Indonesia
  15. Ireland
  16. Italy
  17. Japan
  18. Kenya
  19. Lebanon
  20. Madagascar
  21. Malaysia
  22. Mexico
  23. Mongolia
  24. Netherlands
  25. New Zealand
  26. Nigeria
  27. Papua New Guinea
  28. Philippines
  29. Poland
  30. Russia
  31. Singapore
  32. South Africa
  33. South Korea
  34. Spain
  35. Switzerland
  36. Tunisia
  37. United Kingdom Shapefile
  38. United States of America
  39. Vietnam
  40. Croatia
  41. Chile
  42. Norway

Disclaimer : If you find any shapefile data of country provided is in correct do contact us or comment below, so that we will correct the same in our system as well we will try to correct the same in OSM.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.